Joint Collaborative Committees


In 2001, four Joint Collaborative Committees were created by Doctors of BC and the BC government as part of a commitment to work together to provide the best health care services to the people of BC. Each committee is dedicated to specific areas of health care – primary care (FPSC), specialist care (SSC), primary care/specialist care (Shared Care) and rural care (JSC). 

Each committee represents doctors, government, health authorities, patients, families, and other partners, working collaboratively to co-design the current state and future direction of BC’s health care systems. All the committees are funded by Doctors of BC and the BC government through the Physician Master Agreement. Through this partnership, doctors, government and Doctors of BC programs work together to identify complex problems in BC’s health care system and create solutions with a goal of improving patient care.